Fortnite: You can now merge all of your accounts, Epic confirms

Judy Cobb
February 10, 2019

Account merging is a feature Epic announced at the end of a year ago, shortly after Sony agreed to cross-platform play. Everybody who had to split their play time between an Epic Games account associated with PS4 and an Epic Games account associated with Switch or Xbox One can finally get all of their items in one place, though the process does have a few technicalities you should know before starting. You can not merge two accounts on the same platform.

Epic Games released their new system update to make it possible to unify your best skins into one primary account.

"I don't want problems Pep!" - Benjamin Mendy clarifies Instagram Story 'joke'
I didn't know it, f*ck he's a lucky guy. 'He's injured, it's not easy - meniscus. You can't return and train for two days and then you are fit.

Having chosen the primary, Fortnite fans will then need to select a secondary account to be merged and then disabled. Don't panic! You'll have to wait two weeks for the V-Bucks and cosmetic items you had on your secondary account to appear on your primary account. Due to a restriction imposed by Sony, any Fortnite account which had ever been used - even once - to play the game on PS4 couldn't be used on an Xbox One or Switch version of the game. I recommend picking which account you want to keep before you start, so you can make sure to log into it as the "Primary Account" during the first step of the merge process. Save The World is slightly more limited: you can only merge Llamas, Defenders, Heroes, Schematics, Survivors, XP, Evolution, and Perk Materials. While Epic don't explicitly say it, it can be assumed that if your ban is lifted or your account is reactivated, you'll be able to merge accounts.

Epic highlight that other items such as Unreal Marketplace items, Creative Islands, and Save The World account levels and progress will not be merged over from your secondary account and will be gone, potentially forever, upon the successful merger of your accounts. Another caveat is that both accounts must have been used before 28 September 2018 to be eligible - one used to play on a Switch, and another on a PS4. Just to be clear, the wording specifies that the second account is disabled. Head to the Epic Games site to read the complete breakdown of what will happen, what will be kept, and what will be lost.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER