NZ vs Ind 2nd T20: Hosts win toss and opt to bat

Heather Diaz
February 8, 2019

2nd T20I preview: A strong comeback will be expected from India after the hammering from New Zealand in the series-opener when the two teams square-up in the second T20 worldwide at Eden Park here on Friday. The first T20 clash was Kiwis' game completely as India were handed their biggest ever T20 defeat by margin of runs.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner, James Neesham.

Not even the seasoned Bhuvneshwar Kumar was spared as he, alongside Hardik Pandya and Khaleel Ahmed, leaked 12 runs an over.

The hosts set a huge score of 219 for six, thanks to opener Tim Seifert's quick-fire 43-ball 84 as well as Colin Munro and Kane Williamson's 34-run cameos.

# The two sides have walked down the crease for the national anthems! . Despite having eight batsmen in the eleven, India lost by 80 runs.

Khashoggi murder 'planned and perpetrated' by Saudi officials: UN expert
She said she had " major concerns " about the fairness of proceedings for 11 people facing trial for Mr Khashoggi's murder. Human Rights Council in Geneva, but is expected to be published a few weeks earlier, in late May.

For India, hopes will be high from captain Rohit Sharma and explosive opener Shikhar Dhawan.

He could not do much in Wellington, getting four off 9 balls before spinner Mitchell Santner bowled him with a fast yorker. While as for the hosts, they will look for a series against the Men in Blue.

The Blackcaps were dominant with both bat and ball, setting India 220 to win before they managed to skittle them for 139 in the impressive victory that lays down a great marker for the remaining two matches and the key was a strong opening partnership which they often lacked in the ODIs. He conceded just three runs from it which included one wide down the leg side.

India: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, K Khaleel Ahmed, Shubman Gill, Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya. "India should look at attacking New Zealand with two regular spinners - Kuldeep (Yadav) and (Yuzvendra) Chahal - in the upcoming matches", said Kumble, a veteran of 132 Tests.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article