Victor of 2018 Ballon d'Or revealed

Heather Diaz
December 3, 2018

While Ronaldo won another Champions League with Real Madrid in a typically prolific year, and Messi continues to mesmerise for Barcelona, both are now in their 30s and neither really stamped their authority on the World Cup in Russian Federation.

Apart from Ronaldo, Modric and Antoinne Griezmann makes the three man shortlist for the prize this year - leaving Barcelona's Lionel Messi out of the equation.

The balance began to swing his way after the World Cup, winning a variety of individual awards, such as UEFA's best player in Europe in August and FIFA's The Best in October.

The root of it is the fact that of all the nominees put forward by France Football, the publication presiding over the Ballon d'Or, Varane is the only one who has won both the World Cup and the Champions League this year.

"Modric is an exceptional player".

Democrats Nominate Nancy Pelosi For House Speaker
Some Democrats, however, could vote "present" instead of voting for either Pelosi or incoming Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy. Nancy Pelosi, the Democratic leader, was flanked by newly elected freshmen when introducing the bill on Friday.

"Cristiano Ronaldo deserves to win it", he told Sky Sport Italia. "He has shown that throughout his career, not just at Real but also at his former clubs and with his country", said Real coach Santiago Solari of a player who grew up during Croatia's independence war. I would vote for him, results are the only objective thing and everything else is subjective.

Since this is a tiddler compared to usual, you've only got four minutes to get this done - ample time we think you'll agree, so it'll be down to fastest fingers first for a place on our daily Twitter leaderboard.

When does the Ballon d'Or ceremony start?

Ronaldo however will not be at Monday evening's gala as he has already been informed that he is not the victor. The 15 nominees include seven players from Lyon, the Champions League winners, and Brazil great Marta, who won the recent Federation Internationale de Football Association prize.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article