Nigeria name uncapped Nwankwo in provisional squad

Heather Diaz
May 15, 2018

The Head coach of the Super Eagles, Gernot Rohr, on Monday, May 14, announced his 30-man provisional squad for the 2018 World Cup in Russian Federation.

Rohr selected goalkeepers Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Francis Uzoho of Deportivo La Coruna, Daniel Akpeyi and Dele Ajiboye, meaning no recall for veteran Vincent Enyeama.

Seven players will be dropped after the England game for the mandatory 23 that will be submitted to feature in Russian Federation.

Lokosa has taken the Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) by storm this season, with his goals accounting for Kano Pillars exalted position on the league table.

Regulars such as John Obi Mikel, Victor Moses, William Troost-Ekong and defensive partner Leon Balogun made the cut.

CBS Sues To Ice Viacom Reunification
Moonves wants CBS COO Joseph Ianniello to be president and COO of the merged entity, and to succeed him as CEO when he retires. At the meeting, the committee is set to consider issuing a special dividend to all shareholders that would neutralize Ms.

Uncapped Simeon Nwankwo of Crotone in the Serie "A" is a surprise inclusion in the list of strikers dominated by English premier league players.

Nigeria are the only one of Africa's five representatives from the last World Cup to return for the 2018 edition, which is being hosted by Russian Federation from June 14 to July 15.

Midfielder John Obi Mikel was named captain.

Argentina is one of the favourites to win the tournament and will share a group with Croatia, Iceland and Nigeria.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article