Eurovision 2018: Armenia fails to qualify for final

Sergio Cunningham
May 10, 2018

This Tuesday night, beginning at 21:00 central European time, 10 countries will be selected out of 19 performing at the Altice Arena, by the Tagus River.

Singer Ryan O'Shaughnessy (3rd R) and members of the delegation representing the Republic of Ireland at the opening ceremony (Blue Carpet event) of the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest, at the Museum of Art, Architecture and Technology (MAAT).

Eurovision 2018 kicks off tonight with the first of two semi-finals.

It is prohibited to copy and republish the text of this publication without a written permission from UAB "BNS".

Putin Congratulates Armenia's Opposition Leader-Turned Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan
The extraordinary sitting of the Armenian parliament kicked off 12:00 for the second round of vote to elect a Prime Minister. Pashinyan needed at least 53 votes in the 105-seat unicameral parliament to be named Prime Minister.

While watching the ever-fluid betting odds, fans became excited by seeing her rise to third of the 43 Eurovision contestants and there were even talks of her netting Australia's first win.

"I just love the fact that it's the world coming together and it's always got a good message behind it". No one was expecting to get through to the finals this year and we're all shocked!

Ryan O'Shaughnessy's attractive ballad "Together" won over the Lisbon crowd, as well as the voters watching at home around Europe, not to mention Ireland's competition commentator Marty Whelan, who had his own brilliant reaction to the qualification.

The singer-songwriter SuRie was the surprise victor of the Eurovision: You Decide contest, beating heavy favourite Asanda to become the UK's 2018 entry. Mango TV, China's national broadcaster, broadcast the show last night with a delay, but that's not without making a few edits and changes. In 2015, she was a backing singer on Loic Nottet's Belgian entry, Rhythm Inside, while past year she returned to Team Belgium as musical director for 2017 entry City Lights by Blanche. However, since 2015, Australia has been sending an artist over to compete in the competition with Guy Sebastian, Dami Im and Isaiah all vying for the pop hearts of Europe over the last three years.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article